Latin American & Caribbean Air Transport Association

Asociación Latinoamericana y del Caribe de Transporte Aéreo

Associação para Transporte Aéreo de America Latina e do Caribe


+ read more
Federico Bloch Award

The Federico Bloch award recognizes outstanding leadership in the advancement and integration of the commercial aviation industry in Latin America. It is awarded to an individual who launches a successful new business; builds cooperation across the region; introduces progressive business practices; supports the growth of the industry by creating conditions for success; or goes beyond the call of duty to advance the interests of the aviation industry in Latin America and the Caribbean. The award commemorates the legacy of the late Federico Bloch, a pioneer in Latin American aviation and the driving force behind the creation of Grupo TACA (now Avianca).



Nominations are judged by an independent five-member panel with the support of Spencer Stuart. Those judges are:

  • Fernando Pinto, President of TAP Air Portugal and Former President of Varig
  • Roberto Kriete, Member of the Board, Avianca
  • Enrique Borgo Bustamante, Former President of TACA and Former Vice President of El Salvador.
  • Max Kingsley, Executive Director Content, Flight Global.
  • Emilio Romano, CEO Bank of America Mexico, and former CEO Telemundo and Grupo Mexicana de Aviación.


The winner of this yearly recognition is announced during the annual ALTA Airline Leaders Forum gala awards dinner.



Rolim Amaro Award

The annual ALTA Rolim Amaro Award, named after the great Brazilian aviation leader, honors customer service excellence from an airline´s perspective. This award is presented to the Latin American or Caribbean aviation organization that exhibits the best overall customer service as determined by the airlines who are the users or customers of those organizations.


Prior to 2009, the award was presented only to airports. However, starting in 2009, the award selection criteria was expanded to include other industry players such as air navigation service providers, civil aviation authorities and independent regulators. The award criteria were also expanded to include not only exceptional customer service, but also initiatives or projects that have resulted in a more efficient and/or safer airline industry.


The leading nominations are presented to ALTA’s executive committee for their review and vote.

The winner of this yearly recognition is announced during the annual ALTA Airline Leaders Forum gala awards dinner.

To obtain more information about the ALTA Awards please contact